The Waiting Game

IMG_6954

Hi Everyone! 

Finally got in a few swims in the Dover Marina! It is quite surreal to be doing practice swims where you are swimming to the edge of the white cliffs and back!

Currently Coach Kim is discussing with the boat captain potential days to swim. The weather is the major determining factor. In Dover there is currently a thunderstorm front, which makes this weekend fickle in terms of swimming opportunities. However, if there is an open pocket of time where the temperature, winds and waves look decent, and the boat captain says its “go time,” I have to be ready. 

In the meantime my family, Mackenzie, Kim and I have been exploring Dover! Mack and I got in two swims in our first 24 hours in Dover. The first one we were being slapped around in very choppy waters, I couldn’t help but laugh at how ridiculous I felt being hurled around. To top it off, when I concluded my swim and exited the water, Kim informed me that I had a water debris beard!

This morning the waters were very calm and we were able to make some speed improvements! 

I will keep you updated as we hear more about swim conditions…until then it is the waiting game! 

The picture is of the harbor in the Channel where I have been practicing- if you look closely you can see some white cliffs! 

XO

Paige 

12 thoughts on “The Waiting Game

  1. Aunt Laura says:

    Thank you Paige for the update! I keep this open on my computer eagerly awaiting any news! I feel like an anxious parent! Lol! Wishing you God’s Speed! ❤ xoxoxo.

  2. Auntie Sharon says:

    Much love and many prayers Paige for an excellent swim! You go girl, you can do this 🙂 I tell everyone, soooo happy and proud of all you have accomplished.

  3. Judi says:

    All of us at the office are cheering you on ! I still have my picture from your last appoinment to show myself with a young woman who swam the english channel !! I find it amazing !lots of love

  4. Diane Coletti says:

    Paige,
    I love reading your blog! You are an amazing person and I admire your dedication and inner strength. I see you not only accomplishing this feat, but enjoying it as well. You have done all of the hard work and now it is time dig deep and make your dream a reality. I am sending you buckets of “healing gold” to use when the going gets tough and warm and loving arms to wrap yourself in. XOXO Diane

    • Thank you SO much Diane!!!! You have taught me so much about positive thinking, setting intentions and meditating (i.e. the secret)…it has been crucial and beneficial during all this! I am forever grateful! I will definitely use the healing gold and warm loving arms during my swim and think of you! XOXO

Leave a Reply

